The Traveler’s Gift – Andy Andrews, Part 2

3. I am a person of action – David visits the Civil War, and hears this “David Ponder, I say to you now that this is the first time in history that men have fought to set another man free. Most of us Maine boys have never even seen black skin on a man, but if it is true that all men are created equal, then we are fighting for each other. We are fighting because it is the right thing to do.”

“A person who moves neither left nor right is a person of mediocrity.” I do not want to be mediocre. I know that I am not mediocre, which is the best part. I know that I have a purpose, and a destiny, and I need to focus on taking much more action.

4. I have a decided heart – Christopher Columbus knew he would find land, even though everyone thought he was absolutely insane. He had a decided heart that he would see land the very next day, over and over and over. And, eventually, he did. He never let anyone distract his decisiveness.

For me “I will freely give my vision for the future to others, and as they see the belief in my eyes, they will follow me.”

This is powerful. I have been scared to tell others (friends, co-workers, family) what I want my future to look like. As I’ve begun to open up about it, I have been ridiculed by some, but that is making me stronger. I have a decided heart. “All my problems become smaller when I confront them.”

5. Today I will choose to be happy – Anne Frank…

Wow, what a powerful chapter. The fact that someone so deprived, and terrified could choose to be happy, is something we all need to be aware of. There is no need for us to boo-hoo and complain about our sad little 1st world lives. Start every day with laughter and make a decision to be happy. Happiness is contagious and will get you the results you want from others around you who are touched by your happiness.

Follow Andy Andrews on Facebook

Leave a Reply

