My Story

Growing up in Florida, I remember knowing what Network Marketing was from a very young age. I guess that’s rare. But, my family knew a couple very successful families who made their living through a Network Marketing business. I didn’t know how they made money in the industry, but I knew it existed.

In college, while working a summer job at a law firm, I was asked to go to a BNI (business network international) meeting on behalf of my boss. The meeting consisted of a short presentation by the sponsor of that meeting, then we went around the room and introduced ourselves for about 30 seconds each. This was essentially a way to “pitch” your organization/company to the rest of the room, and ask for referrals from their network of business associates. In one of those meetings, I met a Network Marketer. A very successful one, at that. She asked me to meet with her, after she asked if I was looking to make extra money. Are you kidding me? Show me a college student who isn’t looking to make extra money? I met with her, she told me how I could work with her company to get rich! The investment wasn’t huge, but as a college student, I didn’t have the money lying around, so I opened a brand new credit card, and maxed it out. Soon, I had an entire apartment full of products, and a new monthly payment. I lasted in that company for approximately 2 months before I started searching for someone else in the company to buy all my product, and help me out of this disaster!

When my husband and I joined our first Network Marketing company, we did not believe that it would ever be something that could bring in an actual income. Maybe we would get some great products, and make a couple bucks on the side. Every little bit counts, right? What we found was…it was a terrible experience. The company was selling a product/service that no one wanted. Honestly, it was almost impossible for most people to even take advantage of the service provided. We spent money, and didn’t see any return. We vowed to never do “one of those things” again.

Fast forward a few months. I was approached about another “business opportunity” by a close family friend who was also an Internal Medicine Doctor. She didn’t even tell me it was a business opportunity at first, but that she had stumbled upon this product that was making medical history. I was not at all interested in listening to what she had to say. After a bit more conversation, her husband told me that it was the biggest business opportunity of my lifetime, and that I had to be a part of it with them. So, I joined. I had no idea what the compensation plan was, and definitely didn’t understand the product she’d been explaining to me. I went home to my husband to tell him what I’d done, and he was furious. We’d decided together that we weren’t going to waste any more money on some pipe dream of earning money through Network Marketing. Our first task was to attend a meeting at a local hotel. I dragged my husband there, and when we left, our minds had been changed. We saw this video (www.abcliveit.com) of an ABC Primetime investigative report from 2005. It was talking about this scientific research done by a Dr. Joe McCord, and how there was a way to make our bodies cellular health revert back to the way it was when we were a kid. It was a bit hard to wrap my head around working with an Anti-Aging Company at the age of 25, but my interest was peaked. And, so was my husbands. We now understood what our Doctor was talking about. This hadn’t been done before. We decided that we would show our parents and their close friends what we’d learned, and hope for the best. If we could make some extra money each month through this business, it wouldn’t hurt.

Fast forward a year, and we started to notice something remarkable. We started to make more money than we had imagined we could. We were surrounded by some incredible people. People who we never would have met. And we were excited. We started to earn bonuses, and travel to incredible places like Park City, UT.

Pro 5 Summit Photo

It was about this time that my husband and I had some BIG revelations about the workforce, our careers, and this Network Marketing business that we owned. First of all, we owned our own business. What we made was dependent on how hard we wanted to work. We understood that we were leaders and team builders, and were ready to work harder than we had in the past. Secondly, the jobs we had, weren’t at all what we’d thought they’d be by this point in our lives. My husband was working for a large insurance company. He made good money, but the job was driving him insane. He was miserable. I was working in a good job with some good people, but there was almost no possibility for growth. I looked around one day to realize that many of my co-workers had been there for 25+ years doing the same exact thing. That scared the crap out of me. I had a mental shift in how I looked at my career. I decided at that moment that I didn’t want that. Not only did I not want that, but it isn’t even possible for me.

The generation that my parents are a part of were able to go to school, get a degree, find a job, and work for 40 years until they retired with a good amount of money to enjoy for the rest of their lives. I do not have that ability. Our economy has changed, and continues to change. It’s getting worse by the year. If I want what my parents were able to give to me as a child, I am going to have to do something different. And that’s when I realized that Network Marketing is my “something different”.

I believe that people will continue to get over their stigma that Network Marketing is a bad thing. In my previous post I showed the photo about Uber and Airbnb. How do those companies work? Through technology, and referrals. Network Marketing is the same thing. We offer people an opportunity to work when they want, how they want, with whom they want. It’s that simple.

I won’t say that all Network Marketing companies are created equal, because they aren’t. But that’s a story for another post.

Take a Chance,

Wendi

 

Leave a Reply

