Top 5 Favorite Healthy Weeknight Meals

If you’re like me, eating a healthy dinner during the week, after a full day at work is one of the HARDEST parts of living a healthy lifestyle. It’s so much easier to grab something quickly, on your way home, or run out late at night to pick up something. But it is SO important to make a healthy dinner a part of your routine. If you eat crap at night, your body doesn’t have the chance to burn it off because you’re most likely sitting at home, and going to bed after you eat.

To help give you some ideas of what I like to cook during the week to keep things healthy and easy, I’m sharing my Top 5 Favorite Healthy Weeknight Meals:

Spaghetti with Roasted Tomatoes and Pine Nuts (Sonoma Diet Cookbook)

This recipe is the most labor intensive of the five. I usually do this on a night when I have plenty of time. It’s not all that complicated, but it takes a bunch of different dishes, which leads to more clean up, etc. The recipe is SO delicious, that a little extra cleanup is totally worth it. Sometimes I’ll even double the recipe to give me left overs to take for work. It still tastes amazing after re-heating it!

Sonoma Recipe

If you haven’t heard of the New Sonoma Diet, you MUST check it out (link above). I love wine, so a diet that gives wine pairings with their recipes totally “had me at hello”.

Quinoa with Mushrooms (Allrecipes.com)

This is technically a side dish, but it can go with many different things. You could even add some chicken into the recipe to add some protein. This is another dish that you could easily take left overs for lunch.

Skinny Buffalo Chicken Stuffed Sweet Potatoes (NotEnoughCinnamon.com)

Baked-sweet-potatoes-loaded-with-buffalo-sauce-shredded-chicken-skinny-blue-cheese-sauce-So-delicious-and-comforting-Find-the-recipe-on-NotEnoughCinnamon.com-glutenfree-healthy-dinner2

I don’t know how I ever went without sweet potatoes in my weekly meal plan. It’s like I just forgot about them for 5 years. My mom used to cook them while I was growing up, and then I just forgot about them. About 6 months ago, my husband and I bought some, and we’ve been hooked ever since. They are super healthy, and delicious. I sometimes just eat them with butter and cinnamon. You can’t go wrong!

This recipe gives you everything you need for dinner. It’s easy to make, and tastes great! I’m not a huge fan of blue cheese, so I use a low fat ranch as a substitute.

Mexican Stuffed Peppers Recipe Card (my husband’s creation)

I could live on Mexican food. I love, love, love it! But it’s definitely not the most healthy option. In an effort to satisfy my Mexican craving, my husband made this for me. It’s simple to make, and has a nice kick to it! If you aren’t a fan of spice, you could also do this with green peppers instead of poblano peppers, and leave out the jalapenos. We like spice, so this is one of our favorite meals to make.

I’m also really sensitive to sodium, so you’ll see that I’ve indicated the low sodium options on all of items in the recipe.

Broiled Salmon with Marmalade-Dijon Glaze with Roasted Asparagus (Myrecipes.com & my creation)

salmon-dijon-ck-1173824-x

This easy salmon recipe is delicious, simple, and quick for a busy night. You mix all of the ingredients together and go. Easy, breezy.

To make the roasted asparagus:

  • Break off the ends of the asparagus while rinsing
  • Line a cookie sheet with aluminum foil
  • Place asparagus on the lined cookie sheet
  • Sprinkle asparagus with olive oil, salt, pepper, and any other seasoning that you like (My mom has this amazing Israeli seasoning that goes great on EVERYTHING…I like to use that)

Fill out the form below to receive a printable shopping list.  And leave a comment if you liked these recipes!

You can also connect with me on Facebook  and send me a message letting me know your thoughts.

~Wendi

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

